Éire Óg Retain the Benburb Cup

  Éire Óg Retain the Benburb Cup

Éire Óg An Carrickmore 1-14 Dungannon Eoghain Ruadh 1-13

A greater efficiency in front of the posts saw Éire Óg retaining their Tyrone Senior Hurling Championship Crown when they edged out fierce rivals Dungannon Eoghan Ruadh by a single point in Omagh on Sunday 13th September.

In the end, it took an Aidy Kelly free on 59 minutes to settle it after a competitive game that saw both teams enjoying periods of dominance. Eoghan Ruadh looked to be taking control at the start of the second half, but a number of missed opportunities meant Eoghan Ruadh didn’t capitalise on their dominance and, Éire Óg made them pay with a 1-04 blitz inside a six minute period.

Eoghan Ruadh were heavily dependent for scores on Damian Casey, who hit 11 points, while their opponents had many players capable of hitting the target, and that proved crucial in the end.

Eoghan Ruadh did battle back and aided by a Matthew Mulgrew goal, they levelled the game until Aidy Kelly stepped up with that all important clincher in a tense final few minutes. Éire Óg will feel they have room for improvement and know they can produce a better performance in their next outing in the Ulster Intermediate Quarter Finals Against their Armagh opponents

Teams and scorers:

Eoghan Ruadh Dungannon – John Devlin, Padraig McHugh (0-1), Ruairi Devlin, Conor Casey, Conor McNally, Stephen Donnelly, Mark Winters, Martin Devlin, Tiernan Morgan, Cathal McErlean, Philip Barker, Paddy McKillion, Terry McIntosh, Damian Casey (0-11), Cormac McHugh.

Subs – Matthew Mulgrew (1-0), Branan Molloy (0-1), Kiefer Morgan, Brian McGilloway.

Éire Óg Carrickmore – Conor McElhatton, Aidan McKernan, Brendan Begley, Pearse McCallan, Sean Paul Begley, Martin Grogan, Dermot Begley, Justin Kelly (0-2), Aidan Kelly 0-6, Conor Grogan, Sean Og Grogan (1-4), Darragh Grogan, Johnny Munroe (0-1), Peadar Daly, Ryan McKernan (0-1).

Subs used – Gary Fox, Tony Hughes, Paul Hughes.

Team Photo 2015 edited